Tags

, ,

20120815-231355.jpg

I don’t know about you but the cucumbers in my garden are going gangbusters!! I needed a quick, cold, summery recipe that called for lots of cucumber. My cherry tomatoes are also getting close to ripe. Perfect timing!

Deciding on a Greek salad wasn’t hard, it’s one of my favorite things! Hope you enjoy it too!

Authentic Greek Salad
Serves 3

2 cucumbers, peeled and quartered, then cut into chunks
1 green bell pepper
1/3 cup red onion, chopped
1/3 package light feta cheese from Trader Joes (or your favorite feta), broken into chunks
1/2 avocado, cubed**
Dried oregano
Salt
Pepper
Quality olive oil

Put all ingredients through avocado into a bowl. Sprinkle generously with dried oregano, salt and fresh cracked pepper. Toss. Drizzle olive oil and toss again. Taste and adjust oil and salt and pepper to your liking. Put in fridge for at least a half hour to meld ingredients and let salad get nice and cold.
** the avocado is not “authentic” but adding kalamata olives would be and would be fabulous, I just didn’t have any on hand.

