Tags

,

20120615-075653.jpg
When I recently needed a big dish to serve nearly 10 people I came up with something that was easy to make and pleased even those with gluten sensitivities. In addition, my nearly 2 year old son loved it! Can’t argue with that!!

Quinoa with apple and raisins
serves 10
2 cups dry quinoa
1 apple {I used fuji but anything would be good}
1/2 cup raisins
1/3 finely chopped white onion
1/2 cup roughly chopped pecans
1/4 cup packed chopped parsley
Sesame oil
Salt
1/3 cup chunked white cheddar {or any cheese you desire}

Make quinoa by bringing to a boil 4 cups water and 2 cups quinoa. Once boiled, simmer with lid on for 15 minutes. When done, fluff with fork and put lid back on for 10 minutes.

Pour all of quinoa in a big bowl, large enough to allow you to toss ingredients around in it. Add the remaining ingredients down to sesame oil. Give a quick toss. Drizzle sesame oil and toss, then drizzle more, sprinkle salt, toss and taste. I like mine to have just a hint of sesame oil, not be oily feeling in my mouth or pungent with sesame flavor. Once t cooled down a bit I added the chunks of white cheddar and gave one last quick toss.
Enjoy!!

