Tags

,

Somewhere along the lines I read the words, “Quinoa Asian Salad” and without a description or photo I came up with a picture in my head of exactly what this salad would look {and taste} like. I took those three words and came up with something very easy and very tasty. It has worked well as a quick dinner and as a potluck dish to share. In the two or three times I have made this salad in the last two weeks, I regrettably did not take a photo. Sorry about that, you’ll have to trust me on this one.

Quinoa Asian Sesame Salad

Serves 3

1/2 cup quinoa, rinsed

1 cucumber

2 carrots

2 or 3 green onions

1 Tbs. sesame seeds {black or blond}

1 Tbs. toasted sesame seed oil

2 tsp. tamari, soy sauce or braggs liquid aminos

1 clove chopped garlic

crushed red chili flakes, to taste

Rinse quinoa and place 1/2 cup quinoa to 1 cup water in a sauce pan. Bring to a boil, cover with a tight fitting lid and simmer for 15 minutes. Fluff with a fork when done and let set for another 5-10 minutes.

Meanwhile, julienne {I like to do this very quickly in a Cuisinart} the cucumber and carrots. Finely chop the green onions and garlic. Pour tamari, soy sauce or braggs, along with the sesame oil into a medium bowl and add the garlic. Combine julienned cucumber and carrot in the same bowl and toss. Add all of the cooked quinoa to the same bowl and sprinkle with red chili flakes and sesame seeds. Toss lightly to coat but to make sure to not mush the quinoa together. Taste once you have tossed and adjust any of the liquid or spice ingredients to your liking.

I have found that this dish keeps in the fridge for one day, but doubtful you’ll have much leftover anyhow.

