Tags

,

Let me introduce you to my first Featured Friends blog guest: my sister Amy!  She decided to share a Thai Butternut Squash Soup that she just loves! I haven’t made it yet, but as soon as I get my hands on some squash {probably next week when the hubs is back from NYC} I’ll be givin this baby a try. I do have the ingredient fish sauce on hand so I’ll incorporate it as well. I bought it at my local Asian Market yesterday for a Green Curry recipe that I made tonight. I didn’t take blog pics but it turned out really tasty so I’ll share that recipe with you, sans pics, soon. Until then, enjoy this Thai culinary delight from my sista!!

I am in love with this soup. The first time I made it was with pumpkin. That’s what the original recipe called for. I find butternut squash to be easier to find, but as we move towards spring I haven’t been able to find it in stores. Because of this I opted for the pre-cut cubes from Costco this time. I have altered the original recipe some, just to make it easier, but I will list the ingredients I have omitted if you so choose to use them. I never make the same thing the same way twice. I’m always throwing a little more of this or that into the pot, so feel free to alter this recipe to your liking. I don’t think you can go wrong!
Image
2 lbs. butternut squash cubed
2 tbs. olive oil
1 onion chopped
2-3 cloves garlic
1 tbs. powdered ginger, fresh if you have it
1 tbs. onion powder
2 tbs. lemongrass finely chopped (this, in my opinion is the key ingredient!)
1 can coconut milk
2 cups water
1/4 cup sweet chili sauce (I use Mae Ploy… YUMM!)
a few sqiurts of Saracha to your spicy standards
a few squirts of Braggs Liquid Aminos
Salt and Pepper to taste
Ommited ingredents:
Cilantro (it mucked up my immersion blender)
Fish Sauce (I don’t keep this on hand)
Saute onion in olive oil in large soup pot for a few minuted until translucent. Add squash cubes, lemongrass, garlic, ginger, onion powder, salt, pepper. Cook for a few minutes stirring to heat up the squash and garlic. Add coconut milk, water, chili sauce, Saracha. Cook for 10-15 mins until squash is tender. Puree by your method of choice. I just bought an immersion blender which I love for the lack of mess! But any method will work. Serve right away.
Image

Ladle extras into small freezer bags for a quick and easy single serving meal!Image
Thanks Amy for sharing this golden deliciousness!
