Tags

,

Okay, do you remember going to Mexican restaurants as a child and if it was your birthday the server would bring a {for lack of a better description} giant tortilla chip with honey, cinnamon, powdered sugar and jam drizzled all over it? I think there were tufts of whip cream around it as well. This Socca that I made for dinner would make such a great alternative to that greasy old chip. But, before I get into that, let me tell you how good Socca is for dinner!

Socca is a French chickpea-flour type pancake {think healthy version of crepes, sort of}. It’s naturally gluten-free, vegan and high in healthy carbs and protein. When serving for dinner, you can arrange any number of toppings to create a delicious and hearty dinner. I laid out most everything I had laying around: arugula, goat cheese, cheddar cheese, pinto beans, salsa, sour cream, scrambled eggs, thin sliced onion, thin sliced red bell peppers, avocado… They are super easy to make and replace a tortilla or even pizza dough superbly! Try a breakfast burrito with Socca for a healthier take on eggs wrapped in tortilla. One thing I HATE about burritos is how soggy the tortilla gets. Bleh!! Not with Socca! Other toppings I imagine would be tasty are kalamata olives, sundries tomatoes, fresh basil, feta or Parmesan… The list could go on.

20120208-201813.jpg

An alternative to dinner is to turn it into that Mexican restaurant birthday dessert treat. It’s like a glorified dessert crepe. I mocked up {and then devoured} a Socca just as I remembered the old greasy tortilla chip version.

20120208-202016.jpg
Oh my, it was good! A dollop of vanilla frozen yogurt is on top in replace of whipped cream. Are you going to try this? Please let me know what you think!!

Homemade Socca

Serves 2 or 3 {makes about 3 seven inch soccas}

1 cup chickpea flour {also known as gram flour or garbanzo flour}
1/2 tsp salt
Big pinch cumin {if desired}
1/2 tsp fresh ground pepper
1 1/4 warm water
2 Tbsp olive oil
Olive or coconut oil for pan {I used coconut}

•In a bowl combine chickpea flour, salt and pepper. Wisk in warm water and oil. Let sit covered at least 30 minutes, but as many hours as possible is best because it aids in digestion the longer it sits.
•Place a heavy skillet {preferably cast-iron} in the oven and preheat to 450*.
•Remove skillet and add a tad oil to hot pan. Pour Socca batter until it reaches the edges. Bake around 8 minutes, or until the edges are set.
•Either flip the Socca or set it under the broiler to brown the top side. {I flipped mine and it worked well}. Let cook a few minutes longer.
•Cut into wedges or leave whole. Fill with toppings of your choice.

