Tags

 

The hubs and I challenged ourselves to a month without alcohol.  It was a good start to a new year. Honestly, I thought it would be more of a challenge, and was pleasantly surprised when going completely cold turkey proved relatively easy peasy. It was good to know that passing up the social beverage was not as daunting a task as we thought. It gave good prospective at how often we would absentmindedly grab for a beer or glass of wine if we had some around the house.

I would say the first week was the hardest, just because there is somewhat of a reprogramming of the brain’s habit to grab the evening drink to unwind. For the hubs it was an easy way to ease into the evening after a long day in nursing school or long clinical shift at the hospital. For me it was a welcoming way to kick my feet up after putting the little one to bed.

We definitely consumed a few mugs of hot chocolate on a nightly basis, but I’m an addict of hot chocolate to begin with, and have been for as long as I can remember.

All in all it was still a good challenge to go a month without it but even better was the money we saved not buying it every week. We figure around $15 per week was typically what we spent. So to save $60 felt good. It actually felt like we saved much much more because we didn’t go on any dates where we typically would have. Now that it’s February 1st, I better find a sitter and go hit the town with hubs. It’s a luxury us parents savor every minute of.

Do you think you could go a month with out drinking? How much would you expect to save during that time? I bet you would surprise yourself!

