20120214-133200.jpg

We like a chewy cookie around these parts. Not terribly a fan of crunchy or hard cookies. A little while back the hubs put me on a mission to make a “Toll House” style chocolate chip cookie. Basically what he wanted was a perfected thick and chewy cookie. I found that perfected cookie over at the Brown Eyed Baker’s blog. She has absolutely perfected the chocolate chip cookie, recreating the Toll House cookie in all it’s glory. She’s even got down the method to create that irresistible crinkly top that I thought only was available in store bought cookies. I HIGHLY encourage you to head over to her blog and try out her recipe. There’s simply nothing like it!

This blog actually isn’t about the Toll House cookie that the Brown Eyed Baker taught me to perfect but an easily added ingredient that I have found keeps my cookies soft and chewy….flaxseed meal or ground flaxseeds! They work amazingly well to keep cookies soft and you can use it in replace of the eggs called for. Sometimes I’ll use only one egg and substitute flaxseed meal or ground flaxseed for the second egg. I either buy flaxseed meal in a bag {Bob’s Red Mill brand makes a good one} or use my coffee bean grinder to grind whole flaxseeds that I buy in bulk.

What to do: In a small dish or cup measure one tablespoon of flaxmeal or ground flaxseed and add 3 tablespoons of water. Let sit a few minutes before adding. Add to the recipe when the eggs are called for. That’s it!

I would share one of my personal cookies recipes but I never follow directions with cookies {well, rarely} so every cookie I make is an estimate of this and a dash of that. I do however, love to use flax!! And how could I not?! Flaxseed is an excellent source of protein, fiber, and minerals such as magnesium and copper. It is also a great source of Omega-3′s and lignans.

If you try it, let me know what you think!

